Dreelan and Scott Take Group C Pole in Jarama

Tommy Dreelan and Aaron Scott planted their Leyton House-liveried Porsche 962 on pole for the opening Group C race of 2016 at the Jarama Classic today, outpacing the Gebhardt C91 of Michael Lyons. It is four marques in the top four places as Steve Tandy’s Spice was third quickest ahead of the Aston Martin AMR 1 of Tom Kimber-Smith.

Group C Qualifying, Combined Best Times:
1 C1A Tommy Dreelan/Aaron Scott (Porsche 962) 1m30.431s
2 C3A Michael Lyons (Gebhardt C91) 1m30.662s
3 C1A Steve Tandy (Spice SE90 GTP) 1m31.290s
4 C1A Tom Kimber-Smith (Aston Martin AMR1) 1m31,820s
5 C3A Dominique Guenat (Peugeot 905 EVO Bis) 1m32.154s
6 C1A Pierre-Alain France/Erwin France (Porsche 962) 1m32.180s 
7 C3A Richard Eyre (Jaguar XJR-16) 1m32.583s
8 C1A Eric Dedoncker (Spice SE90C) 1m34.337s
9 C2A Mike Wrigley (Argo JM19) 1m35.253s
10 C2A Frederic Darocha (Spice SE88C) 1m35.279s
11 C1A Henrik Lindberg (Porsche 962C) 1m36.482s
12 C1B Mr John of B/David Ferrer (Rondeau M382) 1m39.567s
13 C1A Eric Rickenbacker (Cheetah G606) 1m41.113s
14 C2A Frank Lyons/Michael Lyons (ALD C289)1m41.179s

In the first races of the weekend, Sandy Watson and Martin O’Connell claimed the opening Classic Endurance Racing one-hour race in their Chevron B19, heading home a posse of Lola T70s with the MK11 Spyder of Pedro Macedo Silva over thirty seconds behind in second at the flag.

Carlos Monteverde took today’s 35-minute Trofeo Nastro Rosso race in his Ferrari 250 LM,with the Maserati T60 Birdcage of just under Guillermo Fierro 2.6-seconds behind despite seeing fastest race lap.
The GT40 of Jose Albuquerque and Francisco Albuquerque claimed the Iberian Historic Endurance race, well clear of the Porsche 911 RS of Alfredo Martinez and Jesus Fuster, with the similar 911 of Jorge Lopez a second further back.

Popular Articles