C2 Winner in Opening Group C Race

It was a surprise result in the opening Group C race of 2017 at the Jarama Classic today when the experienced Martin O’Connell took his C2 Alba to the race win. 

From seventh not he grid O’Connell waist third by the end of lap two and second behind the Mercedes of Rui Aguas a lap later. It took until lap 15 for the Briton to get past, going on to pull almost half a minute clear in the 25-lap race. 

Group C, Jarama Classic Race One:
1 C2b Martin O’Connell (Alba AR2) 25 laps in 42m50.967s
2 C1a Kriton Lendoudis/Rui Aguas (Mercedes-Benz C11) +28.639s
3 C1a Tommy Dreelan/Aaron Scott (Porsche 962) +36.716s
4 C1a Shaun Lynn (Jaguar XJR12) +41.610s
5 C2a Laurent Fort (Tiga GC288) +1m00.226s
6 C1a Michel Lecourt/Raymond Narac (Porsche 962C) +1m18.805s
7 C1a Eric Rickenbacher (Cheetah G606) +1 Lap
8 C2a Frederic da Rocha (Spice SE88C) +1 Lap
9 C1b Christian Perrier (March 85G) +2 Laps

Fastest Lap: Aguas 1m29.965s 151.4kph.

Popular Articles