Lyons Takes Group C Double at Jarama

It was a double win for the Gebhardt C91 of Michael Lyons in today’s two 45-minute Group C race at the Jarama Classic, the British racer chased home by the potent Spice of Steve Tandy in each race in front of 10,000 spectators at the Spanish circuit. 

In the first of the day's two races Lyons took th lead on the opening lap, the pole-sitting Porsche of Tommy Dreelan and Aaron Scott slipping down to last in the 13-car field. Lyons was never headed, likewise Tandy held second for the duration of the race. 

Race two saw the Dreelan and Scott 962 in contention, leading for the opening 13-laps before Lyons went past. From then on the the Leyton House Porsche slipped down the order finally coming home fourth, while Tandy, fourth in the opening laps, exchanged places with the 962C of Erwin France before taking his second runner up slot of the day at the end of the 45-minutes.

Group C:

Race One (45-minutes):
1 Michael Lyons (Gebhardt C91) 26 laps in 45m47.439s
2 Steve Tandy(Spice SE90 GTP) +10.081s
3 Dominque Geunat (Peugeot 905 EVO Bis) +49.638s
4 Richard Eyre (Jaguar XJR-16) +1m20.260s
5 Eric Dedoncker (SPice SE90) + 1 lap
6 Mike Wrigley (Argo JM19) + 1 lap

Class Winners: Lyons; Tandy; Wrigley.
Fastest Lap: Tommy Dreelan (Porsche 962) 1m32.486s (149.9kph) 

Race Two (45-minutes):
1 M Lyons 26 laps in 45m55.656s
2 Tandy +16.302s
3 Pierre-Alain France/Erwin France (Porsche 962C) +48.567s
4 Tommy Dreelan/Aaron Scott (Porsche 962) 54.007s
5 Eyre +1m09.165s
6 Wrigley 1m19.346s

Class Winners: Lyons; Tandy; Wrigley.
Fastest Lap: Erwin France 1m32.738s (149.4kph) 

Popular Articles