Twenty Two Cars for British Grand Prix Historic F1 Support Race

The Masters Historic Formula One field have two races at this weekend’s British Grand Prix meeting, with a 22-car entry offering up a great range of Formula One history. After two qualifying sessions they have two 25-minute races on Saturday at 08.20 (so well worth getting there early if you are going tomorrow) and at 18.20.

Cars in action cover a huge period of Formula One development, including Red Bull guru Adrian Newey out in his 1968 Lotus 49, the car that was the first to use the Cosworth DFV engine and took Graham Hill to his world title second championship that year. In contrast, the battle at the front is going to be between the cars from the early 1980s, such as the Lotus 91/7 of Katsu Kubota, the Tyrrell of Jamie Constable and Steve Hartley’s gorgeous McLaren MP4/1.

Keep an eye out for Jean-Denis Deletraz, out in an ATS and who raced in three Grand Prix, one in 1994 for the Larrouse team, and two a year later for Pacific Team Lotus, and the Alfa Romeo of Richard Hope, everyone loves an Alfa!


Number/Driver/Nationality/Year and Car/Class
2 Kubota, Katsuaki JPN (1982 Lotus 91/7) Head 

3 Simmonds, Ian GBR (1983 Tyrrell 012) Lauda

5 Newey, Adrian GBR (1968 Lotus 49) Stewart

6 Dreelan, Tommy IRE (1982 Williams FW08) Head

9 Deletraz, Jean Denis CHE (1980 ATS D4) Head

11 Davison, James AUS (1980 Lotus 81) Head

15 Baudoin, Michel FRA (1978 Hesketh 308E) Fittipaldi

16 Mena, Pierre-Brice FRA (1977 Shadow DN8) Fittipaldi

19 Perkins, Chris GBR (1974 Surtees TS16) Fittipaldi

21 Martin, Mark GBR (1975 Hesketh 308C) Fitipaldi

25 Hope, Richard GBR (1982 Alfa Romeo 182) Head

27 Grogor, Jordan ZAF (1980 Arrows A3) Head

34 Fletcher, Henry GBR (1976 March 761) Fittipaldi

35 Pastorelli, Nicky NLD (1976 March 761) Fittipaldi

38 D'Aubreby, Patrick FRA (1976 March 761) Fittipaldi

55 Shaw, David GBR (1972 March 721) Stewart

75 Fisken, Gregor GBR (1975 Shadow DN5) Fittipaldi

77 Hartley, Steve GBR (1982 McLaren MP4/1) Head

78 Briggs, Warren NZL (1980 McLaren M29) Head

87 Holtzman, Jonathan USA (1981 Lotus 87B) Head

93 Harrison, Mark GBR (1979 Shadow DN9) Head

99 Constable, Jamie GBR (1982 Tyrrell 011) Head

Popular Articles