Thurston and Grant Win Walter Hayes Trophy Historic Finals

While Michael Moyers claimed the overall Walter Hayes Trophy crown at Silverstone over the weekend, following up his 2017 victory, there were also two finals for cars from set periods to give those driving older chassis something to race for. The Carl Hamer Trophy for the oldest cars saw the immaculate Merlyn Mk20A (pictured above) of Ed Thurston, a HSCC Historic Formula Ford Championship regular in a Elden, take the win.

The Janet Cesar Trophy for slightly newer cars saw another HSCC front-runner Callum Grant (who races a Merlyn in that series) win in his Van Diemen from series rival Richard Tarling.

Carl Hamer Trophy Final (1967-1981)
1 Ed Thurston (Merlyn Mk20A) 12 laps 
2 Mark Armstrong (Van Diemen RF80) +3.623s    
3 Rick Morris (Royale RP29)
4 Gaius Ghinn (Zeus ZR1)
5 Jonathan Lewis (Van Diemen RF81)
6 Westie Mitchell (Merlyn Mk20)
Fastest Lap: Thurston 1m10.701s

Janet Cesar Trophy Final (1982-1988)
1 Callum Grant  (Van Diemen RF91) 12 laps 
2 Richard Tarling (Jamun M92) +12.429s
3 Doug Crosbie (Van Diemen RF89)    
4 Jaap Blijleven (Reynard 89F)   (Below)
5 Nicolas Beloou (Van Diemen RF91)
6 Stephane Lemeret (Van Diemen RF92)    
FL: 1m09.934s    

Japp Bljleven, Reynard 89F

Popular Articles