Display Aircraft for Goodwood Revival Announced

A feature of the Goodwood Revival is the range of classic aircraft on show alongside the classic race cars, and organisers have announced the line-up of aircraft to be on display for the 10th anniversary of the Freddie March Spirit of Aviation (FMSoA) presented by Avtrade at next weekend's event (September 8th–10th).

An esteemed judging panel will cast their eyes over some of the most rarely-seen and beautiful pre-1966 aircraft in the world for the renowned FMSoA Concours d’Elegance. Record-breaking skydiver Felix Baumgartner, who in 2012 jumped from a balloon in the stratosphere, will form part of the panel, alongside model and aviation enthusiast Jodie Kidd. Also judging will be former Master of the Royal Household, Air Marshal Sir David Walker, architectural and aviation author Jonathan Glancey, expedition pilot Tracey Curtis-Taylor, former CEO and Chairman of Rolls-Royce Sir Ralph Robins and Avtrade Aviation Executive, aerobatic competitor and air show pilot Jeff Lewis.

Among the aircraft on display will be the only fully functional Bristol Blenheim MkI L6739, a 1944 Beechcraft D17 S Staggerwing, a 1942 Douglas C53, a 1938 Foster Wikner Wicko, a 1939 Lockheed P-38 Lightning, a 1938 Ryan SCW145, a 1930 de Havilland Gipsy Moth and two Supermarine Spitfires. Many of the awe-inspiring aircraft have previously won or been placed in the Concours d’Elegance at Goodwood Revival.

Also making an enormously popular return will be the Red Rockette NC16S Staggering Staggerwing owned by Bill Charney. ‘Captain Biff Windsock,’ as he is affectionately known, purchased the Staggerwing in 1994 and extensively restored it, having first fallen in love with one in 1940.

For the first time, the Freddie March Spirit of Aviation will be presented by Avtrade, an independent and privately owned global aircraft component service provider to the aviation industry. in the pioneering nature of the Avtrade business and the late Freddie March.

Full line-up of aircraft for the Freddie March Spirit of Aviation presented by Avtrade:

1937 Beech D17-S Staggerwing NC18028 (3rd in 2008)
1944 Beechcraft D17-S Staggerwing NC16S (Winner in 2012)
1942 Boeing Stearman 75 ‘Spirit of Artemis’ N56200 (3rd in 2013)
1943 Bristol Blenheim Mk I L6739 (Winner in 2015)
1940 Bücker BU133C Jungmeister G-BVGP (Winner in 2009)
1952 Cessna 195 Businessliner N3964B (2nd in 2009)
1949 Cessna 195 Businessliner N 159 RS (Winner in 2014)
1942 Douglas C53 LN-WND
1931 de Havilland DH60G Gipsy Moth G–ABDA (2nd in 2012)
1932 de Havilland DH53 Fox Moth ZK-AGM (Winner in 2016)
1961 de Havilland DHC-2 Beaver G–DHCZ (2nd in 2011)
1945 de Havilland DH 89 Dragon Rapide G-AHAG (3rd in 2014)
1938 Foster Wikner Wicko G–AFJB (Winner in 2007)
1939 Gloster Gladiator G-GLAD (2nd in 2014)
1937 Hawker Demon G-BTVE (Winner in 2010)
1935 Hawker Fury MkI G–CBZP (Winner in 2011)
1934 Hawker Nimrod G–BURZ (3rd in 2010)
1939 Lockheed P-38 Lightning
1936 Miles M.11A Whitney Straight G-AERV (2nd in 2016)
1939 Monocoupe 90A G-AFEL (2nd in 2013)
1943 North American AT16 G-AZSC
1947 North American L-17A Navion N9868H (3rd in 2009)
1938 Ryan SCW145 VH-SCW (3rd in 2016)
1939 Spartan 7W Executive NC17633 (2nd in 2008)
1948 Stinson 108-3 ‘Flying Station Wagon’ G–WAGN (2nd in 2010)
1940 Supermarine Spitfire IA AR213 (Winner in 2008 and 3rd in 2015)
1943 Supermarine Spitfire Mk IXb MH434 (2nd in 2015)

Popular Articles