Varied Entry for Group C Opener

The Group C season kicks off at Jarama in Spain on the weekend of the 2nd and 3rd of April, at the opening Peter Auto event of the year and the first time the poplar sportscars race under that organisation’s banner.  Currently the entry stands at 16-cars with some of the rapid regulars present but so far not the front running Mercedes C11s and Jaguar XJR-14 that have set the pace in recent seasons.

One thing Peter Auto have achieved is some variety of chassis with a Rondeau M382 entered - the car that came close to giving the French marque the World Endurance Championship manufacturers’ title in 1982 - and one of the Jo Marquart-designed Argo JM19s, that were raced spectacularly in period by Martin Schanche amongst others. Bang on the pace in class three, for the more developed cars raced towards the end of the Group C era, should the willing Peugeot 905 Evo of Dominique Genet, always a crowd pleaser.

The Group C cars are on track on all three days of the Jarama Classic, with a qualifying session at 14.25 on Friday followed by a second session at 10.55 on Saturday morning. The two 45-minute races are set for 10.05 and 15.35 on Sunday.



3 Richard EYRE GBR JAGUAR XJR-16 / 1991 C3a

4 Dominique GUENAT CHE PEUGEOT 905 Evo 1 B / 1993 C3a

5 Steve TANDY GBR SPICE SE90 GTP / 1990 C1a

14 Tommy DREELAN/Aaron SCOTT IRL/GBR PORSCHE 962 / 1987 C1a


24 Mr JOHN OF B FRA RONDEAU M382 / 1982 C1b

25 Michael LYONS GBR GEBHARDT C91 / 1992 C3a

33 Henrik LINDBERG DNK PORSCHE 962C / 1990 C1a

45 Pierre-Alain FRANCE/Erwin FRANCE FRA/FRA PORSCHE 962C / 1990 C1a

53 Jean-Marc MERLIN FRA SPICE SE90C / 1990 C1a


82 Michel LECOURT/Raymond NARAC FRA/FRA PORSCHE 962C / 1990 C1a

98 Eric DE DONCKER BEL SPICE SE90C / 1990 C1a

111 Frédéric DA ROCHA FRA SPICE SE88C / 1988 C2a

151 Mike WRIGLEY GBR ARGO JM19 / 1988 C2a

177 Frank LYONS/Michael LYONS GBR/GBR ALD C289 / 1989 C2a

Popular Articles