Alpine Trial Goes to Burnett and Haylock

Gareth Burnett and Jez Haylock have won the Endurance Rally Association’s Alpine Trial for the second time – using their Talbot 105 Alpine which was used in the very first Alpine Trial held in 1934.  In addition to claiming the overall title, Burnett and Haylock also added the coveted Alpine Cup to their collection of silverware, given to those crews who keep a clean sheet in the results. 

The all-British team face fierce competition from John Abel and Leigh Powley in the 1937 Lagonda LG45, who were compensated for their second place with their own set of Alpine Cups, and Peter Lovett and Rob Henchoz in the 1937 BMW 328, who had to settle for third place. 

Alpine Cups were also awarded to Clint and Brad Smith in the 1938 Jaguar SS100, and Paul Wignall and Guy Woodcock in the 1929 Alvis Silver Eagle.  There were awards for Czech’s Jan Hradecky and Dana Hradecka who were presented Spirit of the Rally for competing in a skeletal 1936 Jawa Aero Minor 1, a lightweight car from their home country, which was conceived and a prototype built in secret, during the second world war.

Kate and Sophie Wickham were awarded the Concours d’Elegance for their 1934 MG TC, while the TT Award, with TT standing for Tin Top, was accepted by Tony and Pauline Mather in the 1937 Citroen Traction Avant.

The ERA’s third Alpine Trial started in the little-known town of Divonne-les-Bains, nestling next to the Swiss border near Geneva. From there, the route journeyed the entire breadth of the Jura Mountains, west of the Rhone, before moving into the Alps and Mont Blanc for the finale in Annecy. With Regularity and Special Tests as well as Alpine sections, route master Keith Baud pushed the crews to the limit as they navigated rocky hairpins, remote Alpine roads, and the steepest of mountain climbs.

Fred Gallagher, ERA’s Rally Director, said: “Another fantastic three-days of historic rallying. The route continues to offer exciting competition for those who want it, challenging roads that you’d never find on your own, and a stunning backdrop for equally stunning cars.”

As well as the overall winners, the Alpine Trial’s 40-strong entry-list was broken down into five categories based on engine size: up to 1500cc; up to 2000cc; up to 3000cc; up to 4000cc; over 4000cc, with class winners celebrated in each.

The next Alpine Trial will take place in 2018, alternating with the newly launched Blue Train Challenge that will start on 18 September 2017. The final ERA event of 2016 starts on 13th November as 50 classic and vintage cars compete in the Rally of the Incas, a thirty-day rally from Buenos Aires to Lima, South America. For updates and more information on the ERA events, visit

Overall Winners:
1st. Gareth Burnett & Jez Haylock, Talbot 105 Alpine
2nd. John Abel & Leigh Powley, Lagonda LG45
3rd. Peter Lovett & Rob Henchoz, BMW 328

Class Winners:
Class 5 vintageant pre ’41 over 4000cc
1st Stuart Anderson & Robert Ellis, Bentley 4.5L
2nd Bill Cleyndert & Matthew Abrey, Bentley Super Sports
3rd. James Gately & Tony Brooks, Cadillac 60 Series Coupe

Class 4 vintageants pre ’41 up to 4000cc:
1st. Clint & Brad Smith, Jaguar SS100
2nd. Wilifried Schaefer & Sandra Hubner, Talbot 105 Alpine
3rd. John Rushton & Michael Birch, Talbot 105 Alpine

Class 3 vintageants pre ’41 up to 3000cc:
1st. Paul Wignall & Guy Woodcock, Alvis Silver Eagle
2nd. Roland D’leteren & Dominique Gasse, Alfa Romeo 6C Pescara

Class 2 vintageants pre ’41 up to 2000cc:
1st. Martin Hunt & Robert Mannix, Frazer Nash BMW 328
2nd. Tony & Pauline Mather, Citroen Traction Avant
3rd. Thomas Maechler & Andrea Scherz, Aston Marton MkII Comp

Class 1 vintageants pre ’41 up to 1500cc:
1st. Brad Mottier & Bill Hoff, Riley Bigley Special
2nd. Michael & Nicolas Kershaw, HRG 1500
3rd. Katie & Sophie Wickham, MG TC

Special Awards
Spirit of the Rally:
Jan Hradecky & Dana Hradecka, Jawa Aero Minor I
Concours d’Elegance:
Katie & Sophie Wickham, MG TC 
TT Trophy:
Tony & Pauline Mather. Citroen Traction Avant

Popular Articles