Three Masters Titles Confirmed with Jarama to Settle Remainder

With just one event to go, Masters Historic Racing has confirmed a number of its 2016 champions with the remaining titles up for grabs at Jarama, Spain, on October 15th and 16th.
Nick Padmore has claimed the Post-1978 division of the FIA Masters Historic Formula One Championship aboard Max Smith-Hilliard’s Williams FW07. In an extraordinary season, Nick has claimed 12 race wins out of 12 races to secure the title in his maiden season aboard the Patrick Head-designed chassis. With his 100% win rate, Nick has an unassailable lead over Belgian ace Loic Deman (Tyrrell 010) who is 29 points ahead of Greg Thornton (Lotus 91/5).
The Pre-1978 division will go down to the wire with Michael Lyons (Hesketh 308E) heading Max Smith-Hilliard by just three points with Shadow DN8 driver Jason Wright third. The category will be decided at the former home of the Spanish Grand Prix in three weeks time.
Lotus Cortina ace, and preparation expert, Andy Wolfe has already secured the Masters Pre-66 Touring Car title, taking wins at Zolder, Brands Hatch, Donington and Zandvoort. A non-score at Spa-Francorchamps didn’t dent his title ambitions, with nearest rival Jonathan Lewis ending the year six points adrift, equal on points with fellow Mini maestro, Masters boss Ron Maydon. Craig Davies, who won the final race at Spa, topped the V8 muscle cars in Class A.
Also claimed is the Stena Line Gentlemen Drivers Pre-66 GT crown, which has fallen to the Morgan SLR of Keith Ahlers/Billy Bellinger who took class honours in each of the four championship rounds. The pair ended the season three points ahead of Graham Wilson/Nigel Greensall (Lotus Elan) who secured class honours with Andy Wolfe/Michael Gans guiding their AC Cobra to third in the championship.
The FIA Masters Historic Sports Car Championship will go down to the wire with Keith Ahlers/Billy Bellinger (Cooper Monaco King Cobra) just one point ahead of Nigel Greensall/Graham Wilson (Chevron B8) who in turn are just three points up on Andrew and Mark Owen. With just one race to go and nine points on offer it will be a tough contest between the three crews.

Popular Articles