Johnson Takes Third Title in a Row after Race Cancellation

Steven Johnson has been officially crowed the 2019 Paynter Dixon Touring Car Masters Champion, his third-straight title. Following a lengthy delay at Sandown, following a crash in an earlier support race, the scheduled 20th and final race of the season was ultimately not contested today due to schedule time constraints. 

According to the CAMS regulations, the best 19 championship races count towards the final series score; with 19 races in total contested this year there are ultimately no major changes to the final results on the corrected scores. Minor adjustments are made based on six of the best Trophy Races counting towards the final score for each driver, though this did not ultimately change any positions in the final leaderboard.

Ultimately, Johnson won the title by 71 points with John Bowe second in the standings for the third consecutive year. Johnson is only the second ever driver, after Bowe, to win three consecutive TCM titles. It is also the sixth title for the famous 1969 Ford Mustang ‘Sally’, each driver having won three times in the storied car – which has now 97 race victories to its credit in its own right. His final 2019 tally included nine race victories in total, 14 podium finishes and four round victories.

Bowe’s two victories at Sandown ensured he won the final round of the year, his first round victory 2019 and the 38th of his TCM Career. Unfortunately, the cancellation of today’s race leaves Bowe stranded on 99 career race wins, the five-time champ forced to wait until the Superloop Adelaide 500 next February to attempt to notch up his century.
Aaron Seton was second overall for the round and Johnson third, those positions decided in a countback based on the finishing position in the final race held.

Ryal Harris claimed third in the championship, a further 71 points behind Bowe. The strong debut by the EFS Camaro delivered the Queenslander two race wins, 10 race podium finishes and the Sydney round victory in September.

Adam Bressington finished fourth; ultimately just six points behind the final step on the overall podium in yet another strong year for the Whiteline Racing team.
Fifth outright and first in the Pro-Am class is Jim Pollicina, who backs up his 2018 ProSport class title with another crown this year.

Pollicina held out a fast-finishing Aaron Seton for the Pro-Am title, the third-generation driver finishing just eight points behind in sixth overall. Ryan Hansford was third in Pro-Am and seventh in the overall standings with Marcus Zukanovic finishing his first full season in eighth.

Cameron Mason and Bruce Williams completed the top-10 in the overall standings.
Allen Boughen head earlier sealed the Pro-Am title, having clinched the class win with a round to spare. Peter Burnitt and Guy Gibbons completed the class podium.

The Paynter Dixon Touring Car Masters will celebrate their 100th round and the first of the new season at the 2020 Superloop Adelaide 500 next February.

Final Standings:
1.   Steve Johnson 1137
2.   John Bowe 1066
3.   Ryal Harris 995
4.   Adam Bressington 989
5.   Jim Pollicina 817 (1st ProAm)
6.   Aaron Seton 809 (2nd ProAm)
7.   Ryan Hansford 718 (3rd ProAm)
8.   Marcus Zukanovic 695
9.   Cameron Mason 659 (4th ProAm)
10. Bruce Williams 632 (5th ProAm)
18. Allen Boughen 260 (1st ProSports)
22. Pete Burnitt 211 (2nd ProSports)
23. Guy Gibbons 168 (3rd ProSports)

Popular Articles