Pritchard and Clarke clinch MSA BHRC title

Jason Pritchard and Phil Clarke secured the 2015 Mintex MSA British Historic Rally Championship crown after rounds six and seven on the Rally Isle of Man Classicagh (September 17-19).

Although Pritchard and Clarke only finished fourth in the final overall results, they scored enough points across the two parts of the championship double-header to put the matter out of reach of their rivals with one round to run.

Once again the annual charge around the island roads lived up to its impressive reputation with over 170 miles of flat-out action across two and a half days.

The rally started with a spectacular stage on the Douglas sea front and concluded with an 18-mile stage that finished outside the TT Grandstands. The pace at the head of the historic rally was ferocious and a tremendous performance from Rob Smith and Alun Cook sealed a fine victory in their Ford Escort Mk2. With Smith not scoring championship points, maximum points in round six went to the hard-charging Guy Woodcock and Graham Dance (Ford Escort Mk2).

However, the title contest was a straight battle between Pritchard/Clarke and Richard Hill and Iwan Jones and it was Hill who set the early pace on Thursday evening. But it all went wrong for Hill on Friday when a high-speed off through a gate cost them a lot of time. They fought back to take maximum points in the second part of the BHRC event, but their overall title hopes were over.

Overall Category 1 winners were Dessie Nutt/Geraldine McBride (Porsche 911), while John Perrott and Keaton Williams (Ford Escort Mk1) had a tremendous rally to win Category 2 and move up to second place overall in the championship.

Category winners in round six were:
Category 1: Dessie Nutt/Geraldine McBride (Porsche 911)
Category 2: John Perrott/Keaton Williams (Ford Escort Mk1)
Category 3: Guy Woodcock/Graham Dance (Ford Escort Mk2)
Category K: Will Onions/Dave Williams (Ford Escort Mk2)

Category winners in round seven were:
Category 1: Rikki Proffitt/James Whitaker (Porsche 911)
Category 2: John Perrott/Keaton Williams (Ford Escort Mk1)
Category 3: Richard Hill/Iwan Jones (Ford Escort Mk2)
Category K: Jason Pritchard/Phil Clarke (Ford Escort Mk2)

Provisional championship points after seven rounds:
1 Jason Pritchard 409
2 John Perrott 322
3 Richard Hill 318
4 Ernie Graham 273
5 Malcolm Rich 251
6 Nick Elliott 247

Popular Articles