Hadfield and Voyazides Dominate at Spa

Leo Voyazides/Simon Hadfield claimed honours in the FIA Masters Historic Sports Car Championship race at Spa-Francorchamps, fending off the attack of a number of similar Lola T70 Mk3Bs.

The Anglo-Greek pair dominated the race, with the car building an early lead before a safety car wiped out Voyazides’ advantage. He set about rebuilding it before the pit window, and Hadfield headed into the race ahead of Manfredo Rossi di Montelera (Abarth-Osella) and Richard Meaden/Martin Stretton (Lola T70 Mk3B.) The Osella faded in the second half of the race, falling to fifth, as Roger Wills moved his McLaren M1C up to second ahead of Jason Wright’s Lola T70 Mk3B). Fourth fell to Steve Tandy (Lola T70 Mk3B) ahead of Rossi di Montelera, with Marc Devis (Lola T70 Mk3B) inheriting sixth after Stretton slowed on the last lap. Pre-66 honours fell to Pedro Macedo da Silva/Andy Newall (Lola T70 Spyder) in 19th place from a 43-car grid.

Roger Wills/James Littlejohn claimed Gentlemen Drivers Pre-66 GT honours in Kiwi Wills’ Bizzarrini 5300GT, chased by Voyazides/Hadfield (AC Cobra) and Rob Hall/Andy Willis (AC Cobra). Pole-sitters Nigel Greensall/Karsten le Blanc (AC Cobra) were fourth, while a giant-killing performance from Keith Ahlers/Billy Bellinger put their Morgan Plus 4 SLR into 10th.

The monster Touring Car grid was comprised of 70s Celebration and Pre-66 runners, developing into a fight between former oval racing star and Pickup champion Steve Dance (Ford Capri), Mark Wright/Dave Coyne (Ford Escort RS1800) and Daniel Brown/Sean Brown (Ford Escort Mk1). Daniel Brown led away, chased by Dance and Wright/Coyne, the Zakspeed-recreation Escort grabbing the lead on lap eight. However, the car fell to third on the pit stops allowing Brown senior to take the lead with Dance chasing hard and the Capri powered ahead as the wet road dried.

“Daniel shot off and pulled away,” said Dance. “I managed to get into a rhythm, and after the pit stop window I could see him and I started trying harder. Within a lap I got him. The track was drying throughout but was very greasy but conditions were consistent, so I just tried not to make any mistakes.”

The best of the Pre-66 Touring Cars was Roger Wills’ Mercury Comet Cyclone with Voyazides/Hadfield (Ford Falcon) taking second ahead of Henry Mann’s Ford Mustang.

Michele Liguori (Lola T292) triumphed in the Can Am Interserie Challenge, early leader Andy Newall (McLaren M8F) succumbing to engine problems that caused him to retire. Steve Tandy took second place in his Lola T70 Mk3B ahead of Peter Schleifer (Lola T310). Martin Stretton succumbed to mechanical problems, whilst engine maladies stopped Voyazides (March 717), while Chris Beighton/Jon Finnemore took fourth, despite Beighton sliding in to the gravel on the final lap.

Masters Historic Racing heads to Jerez, Spain, for its final championship race weekend on October 10-12.

Popular Articles