GT40s Dominate in Spa Six Hours Qualifying

As expected the GT40s dominated yesterday evening in qualifying for today’s Spa Six Hours, filling the first four rows of the grid, with the car of Georg Nolte, Frank Stippler and Micheal Funke quickest at the end of the session. Next up were Chris Ward and Andrew Smith, with the well-balanced trio of Richard Meaden, Martin O’Connell and Nick Padmore third.

First non-GT40 was the Shelby Cobra Daytona of David and Olivier Hart and Nicky Pastorelli which was ninth quickest. Lead Jaguar was the car of Julian Thomas and Callum Lockie which was 18th, just over ten seconds off the pole pace.

A fine performance form the Lotus Elan 26R of Graham Wilson, Oliver Stirling and David Pittard saw them 17th quickest, a place behind Nigel and Oliver Reuben and Mike Jordan, who were only headed by the Cobras in ninth and tenth and a host of GT40s.

The race starts later today at 15.55 local time, with 115 cars setting times in qualifying.

1 (9) GTP Nolte/Stippler/Funke (Ford GT40) 2m42.651s (155.021kph)
2 (55) GTP Ward/Smith (Ford GT40) 2m43.550s
3 (18) GTP Meaden/O’Connell/Padmore (Ford GT40) 2m44.484s
4 (5) GTP Wood/Stretton (Ford GT40) 2m 45.164s
5 (7) GTP Davies/Young/Newell (Ford GT40) 2m46.184s
6 (34) GTP Wills/Littlejohn (Ford GT40) 2m46.558s
7 (1) GTP Wright/Gans/Wolfe (Ford GT40) 2m47.443s
8 (17) GTP Lynn/Haddon (Ford GT40) 2m47.998s
9 (10) GTS12 Kart/Hart/Pastorelli (Shelby Cobra Daytona) 2m48.839s
10 (81) GTS12 Dumolin/Van Riet/Bouvy (Shelby Cobra) 2m49.907s

Popular Articles