Ten Former 24-Hours Winners in Le Mans Classic Line-Up

Among the thousand drivers from more than 30 nationalities who will be behind the wheel during the ninth running of Peter Auto’s  Le Mans Classic, 6th to the 8th of July, on the full Le Mans circuit are ten former winners of the Le Mans 24-Hours.

Jürgen Barth (D), Romain Dumas (F), Loïc Duval (F), Jan Lammers (NL), Gérard Larrousse (F), Klaus Ludwig (D), Jochen Mass (D), Stéphane Ortelli (F), Henri Pescarolo (F) and Marko Werner (D) will all be in action. In all they have racked up a total of 19 victories and 145 participations in the greatest endurance race in the world between 1967 and 2018. The outstanding figure among them is Henri Pescarolo who holds the record for the most starts with 33 crowned by four victories.

Four former Formula One drivers including one world champion and two grand prix winners will take part in the event: Jenson Button (1988 XJR-9 in Group C Racing), René Arnoux (1965 Shelby Cobra 289 in Grid 4 and 1979 BMW M1 Procar in Grid 6), Jacques Laffite (1966 Lola T70 Mk III in Grid 5), and Paul Belmondo (1981 Porsche 935 in Grid 6). 

Several great names in motor sport will also compete: Jean Ragnotti, Emmanuel Collard (1999 Toyota GT-One in Global Endurance Legends), Alain Serpaggi (1978 Alpine A443 in Grid 6), Guy Fréquelin (1964 René Bonnet Djet in Grid 4) and Willi Kauhsen (Porsche 917 in Grid 5).

The majority of these drivers will take part in a public forum on Friday at 14:00 in the village. It will also be attended by Pierre Fillon (President of the Automobile Club de l’Ouest) and Patrick Peter (founder of Peter Auto).

Popular Articles