Strong Masters F1 Entry for Silverstone Classic

Photo: Paul Reading

The FIA Masters Historic Formula One Championship field set for this weekend's Silverstone Classic looks strong with one with over 30 cars currently entered. The series is for cars from 1966 to 1985, and while no 1960s cars are entered, the oldest car out there should be John Delane's Tyrrell 001 from 1970, fittingly running in the Stewart class.

At the front some of the regular names will be looking for the race wins, with Nick Padmore always gong to be a contender in his Williams FW07C, Martin Stretton never to be ignored in his 1983 Tyrrell, and Michael Lyons really getting to grips with his new for 2017 Williams.

We always have a soft spot for the older cars so along with Delane's gorgeous Tyrrell keep an eye out for the Surtees TS16 of Chris Perkins, and David Shaw's unique March 721, the car which was modified and by the short-lived Eifelland team and raced in eight Grand Prix in 1972.

The FIA Masters Historic Formula One Championship has races on Saturday and Sunday afternoons.

Car No. / Driver / (Nationality) / Car / (Class) / Date
1 Nick Padmore (GBR) Williams FW07C (Head) 1981
2 Katsuaki Kubota (JAP) Tyrrell 012 (Lauda) 1984
3 Ian Simmonds (GBR) Tyrrell 012 (Lauda) 1983
4 Joaquin Folch-Rusinol (ESP) Brabham BT49C (Head) 1981
5 Gregory Thornton (GBR) Lotus 77 (Fittipaldi) 1976
12 Steve Brooks (GBR) Lotus 81 (Invitation) 1980
13 Andy Wolfe (GBR) Tyrrell 011 (Head) 1982
14 Simon Fish (GBR) Ensign N180 (Head) 1980
15 Michel Baudoin (FRA) Hesketh 308E (Fittipaldi) 1978
19 Chris Perkins (GBR) Surtees TS16 (Fittipaldi) 1974
22 James Hagan (IE) Hesketh 308/1 (Fittipaldi) 1974
27 Mike Wrigley (GBR) Williams FW07D (Head) 1980
30 David Abbott (GBR) Arrows A4 (Head) 1982
31 Steve Hartley (GBR) Arrows A4 (Head) 1982
32 Philip Hall (GBR) Theodore TR1 (Fittipaldi) 1978
33 John Delane (USA) Tyrrell 001 (Stewart) 1970
44 Martin Stretton (GBR) Tyrrell 012 (Lauda) 1983
49 Neil Glover, (GBR) Arrows A5 (Head) 1982
50 Michael Lyons (GBR) Williams FW07B (Head) 1980
55 David Shaw (GBR) March 721 (Stewart) 1972
56 Max Smith-Hilliard (GBR) Fittipaldi F5A (Fittipaldi) 1978
61 Jason Wright (ITA) Shadow DN8 (Fittipaldi) 1978
66 Tommy Dreelan (IRL) Williams FW08 (Head) 1982
72 Mark Hazell (GBR) Williams FW07B (Head) 1980
74 Mike  Cantillon (GBR) Williams FW07 (Invitation) 1981
75 Gregor Fisken (GBR) Shadow DN5 (Fittipaldi) 1975
77 Mark  Higson (GBR) March 761 (Fittipaldi) 1976
81 Zak Brown (USA) Williams FW07 (Head) 1980
84 Jonathan Kennard (GBR) Arrows A3 (Invitation) 1980
97 Jamie Constable (GBR) Shadow DN8 (Fittipaldi) 1977
111 Philippe Scemama (CHE) Surtees TS9B (Stewart) 1971

Class Structure:

Stewart: Cars built and raced before 31/12/1972
Fittipaldi: Post-1972, non-ground effect Formula One cars
Head: Post-1972, ground effect Formula One cars
Lauda: Post-1972, flat bottomed Formula One cars

Popular Articles