Silverstone Classic - Formula One, Super Touring and Endurance Legends Qualifying

Photos: Jakob Ebrey Photography

Nick Padmore continued his fine run of Silverstone form - having won both historic Formula One races at the British Grand Prix meeting - with quickest time in qualifying today for the FIA Masters Historic Formula One field. Hesketh-mounted Michael Lyons was second and quickest of the Fittipaldi class runners.

FIA Masters Historic Formula One
1 Nick Padmore (Williams FW07C) 1n55.300sLigier JS11
2 Michael Lyons (Hesketh 308E) 1m56.957s
3 Martin Stretton (Tyrrell 012) 1m57.356s
4 Matteo Ferrer-Azo (Ligier JS11) 1m57.442s
5 James Hanson (Lotus 87B) 1m57.516s
6 Christophe D’Ansembourg (Williams FW07C) 1m58.699s
7 Simon Fish (Ensign N180) 2m00.641s
8 Henry Fletcher (March 761) 2m00.707s
9 Steve Boultbee Brooks (Lotus 81) 2m00.783
10 Mark Hazell (Williams FW07B) 2m01.042s

1998 BTCC champion Rickard Rydell recaptured his pace from that period when reunited with the Volvo S40 he did so well in with quickest time in qualifying for the JET Super Touring Trophy race today. He was pushed hard by the Honda of Super Touring regular James Dodds, while the Holden Commodore of Abigail Heaton was third, a very different beast to the two-litre tourers in front!

JET Super Touring Trophy
1 Rickard Rydell (Volvo S40) 2m17.529sHonda Accord
2 James Dodd (Honda Accord) 2m17.572s
3 Abigail Heaton (Holden Commodore) 2m20.320s
4 John Pearson (Audi A4) 2m20.591s
5 John Cleland (Vauxhall Vectra) 2m20.758s
6 Jason Hughes (Vauxhall Vectra) 2m20.855s
7 Simon Garrad (Williams Renault Laguna) 2m21.372s
8 Neil Smith (Alfa Romeo 156) 2m21.772s
9 Paul Pochciol (Jaguar XJ12C) 2m22.20s
10 Guy Minshaw (Audi A4) 2m23.854s

The Masters Endurance Legends make their Silverstone Classic debut this weekend, and Steve Tandy was quickest in his Lola B12/60 - the model used by Rebellion Racing in the World Endurance Championship as recently as 2013. Within a second of Tandy is the ORECA of Michael Lyons and Martin Short’s familiar Dallara, and the Legends should provide some close racing over the next two days. Quickest of the GTs was the Aston Martin DBR9 of Nick Leventis, eleventh at session’s end.

Masters Endurance Legends
1 Steve Tandy (Lola B12/60) 1m54.496sLola B12/60
2 Michael Lyons (ORECA 02 LMP2) 1m54.580s
3 Martin Short (Dallara SP1) 1m54.793s
4 Christophe D’Ansembourg (Lola Aston Martin DBR1-2) 1m55.157s
5 David Porter (Peugeot 908) 1m57.420s
6 Massimiliano Girardo (Dallara SP1) 1m58.449s
7 Gareth Evans (Creation 7) 1m59.368s
8 Mike Furness (Courage LC7S) 2m00.738s
9 Mike Newton (MG Lola EX257) 2m03.275s
10 Travis Engen (Audi R8 LMP1) 2m05.626s

Popular Articles