Packed Gold Cup Programme at Oulton

This month’s Oulton Park Gold Cup will see three days of track action and twenty races at the picturesque English circuit, the HSCC having just released an event timetable. The final day of the meeting, Monday August 25th, features the evocative Formula 5000 and Formula Two cars in action round the parkland circuit, contesting the two races for the Derek Bell Trophy. Saturday August 23rd sees testing in the early morning before the Historic Road Sports are the first qualifying session at 11.20. The eleventh and final session is scheduled for 16.35 for the Derek Bell Trophy runners. Racing begins in earnest on the afternoon of Sunday 24th, with a ten-race programme featuring a mix of GTs, sportscars and single-seaters, the Martini Trophy for the 1970s sports cars and prototypes a potential highlight: 12:05 Historic Road Sports (Sports and GT Cars) 12:40 Historic Formula Junior (Front Engined) 13:15 Super Touring (90s Touring Cars) 13:50 Historic Formula Three 14:25 Martini Trophy (1970s Sports Prototypes) 15:00 Guards Trophy GT (Historic GT Cars) 15:55 70s Road Sports (Sports and GT Cars) 16:30 Guards Trophy SR (Historic Sports Racing Cars) 17:25 Historic Formula Junior (Rear Engined) 17:55 Fiscar (1950s Sports Cars) The Bank Holiday Monday programme sees more qualifying sessions early in the morning the opening Derek Bell Trophy race at 11.35. A treat for Touring Car fans will be three races for different eras, with cars ranging from the Hillman Imps and Lotus Cortinas of the Historic Touring Cars, via the 70s and 80s machines in the Motor Racing Legends Historic Touring Car Challenge to the Super Tourers from the late 1990s.. Qualifying: 08:30 Historic Touring Cars 08:55 Classic Racing Cars (Historic Single Seaters) 09:00 Derek Bell Trophy (Historic F5000 and F2 Cars) 09:40 Formula Ford 2000 10:05 MRL Historic Touring Car Challenge 10:40 Classic Clubmans 11:05 Historic Formula Ford Racing: 11:35 Derek Bell Trophy (Historic F5000 and F2 Cars) 12:10 Super Touring (90s Touring Cars) 12:45 Classic Racing Cars (Historic Single Seaters) 13:05 Lunch 13:45 Martini Trophy (1970s Sports Prototypes) 14:20 Historic Touring Cars 14:55 Formula Ford 2000 15:30 MRL Historic Touring Car Challenge 16.25 Derek Bell Trophy (Historic F5000 and F2 Cars) 17:00 Historic Formula Ford 17:35 Classic Clubmans

Popular Articles