Lecourt and Narac Win Opening Group C Race

Photo: Stephanie Bezard/Peter Auto

Just ten cars qualified for the opening Group C race at the Grand Prix de l’Age d’Or,and with the Nissan NPTi-90 of Roland Lewis and Nick Padmore not making the grid the field was reduced further. The pole-sitting Mercedes-Benz C11 of Kriton Lendoudis and Rui Aguas led the early laps before being passed by the Leyton House Porsche 962C of Tommy Dreelan and Aaron Scott on lap four.

The green 962C led for the next 15 laps before losing out to Nisseki-liveried 962C of Michel Lecourt and Raymond Narac, which led until leg flag. Dreamland and Scott took second after battling with the Mercedes-Benz. In a race of attrition only five cars were classified finishers, Laurent Fort taking class C2a with the Porsche 956 of Russell Kempich fifth three laps back.

Grand Prix de l’Age d’Or, Group C, Race One:
1 C1a Michel Lecourt/Raymond Narac (Porsche 962C) 33 Laps in 45m57.779s
2 C1a Tommy Dreelan/Aaron Scott (Porsche 962C) +15.515s
3 C1a Kriton Lendoudis/Rui Aguas (Mercedes-Benz C11) +16.432s
4 C2a Laurent Fort (Tiga GC288) - 1 Lap
5 C1b Russell Kempich (Porsche 956) - 3 Laps

No Other Classified Finishers.

Popular Articles