Goodwood Revival - Classic Line-Up for St Mary's Trophy

A highlight of the Goodwood Revival are always the two St Mary’s Trophy races, run on each day of the weekend with a ‘name’ driver in the car on Saturday. The classic saloons in action range from half a dozen Jaguars to a fleet of the diminutive Austins who had the races to themselves last year,  piloted by a number of very quick drivers offering up a truly ‘David versus Goliath’ potential battle, especially in the wet.

This year’s entry sees an impressive line-up of well-known drivers taking on the first race, while the secret to success is to have a quick racer in the car on Sunday as well. A few combinations that stand out as being evenly matched include Anthony Reid and Justin Law who are sharing a Jaguar Mk1, the Alfa Romeo Giulietta Steve Soper and Richard Meaden, and after his performance in 2015 you cannot rule out Tom Kristensen in a V8 round Goodwood, and he shares his mighty Ford Thunderbird with Bill Shephard. 

If the Austins can mount a challenge then the winning combination from last year - Andrew and Mike Jordan - will be at the sharp end, as will the car of Gordon Shedden and engine-wizard Neil Brown. Do keep an eye out for the oldest car in the race, the 1949 Morris Minor of rally ace Rauno Aaltonen, who was winning international rallies as long ago as 1961.

Saturday’s race is scheduled for 14.20, with Sunday’s at 12.35.

St Mary's Trophy Entry List (First Named Driver is for Saturday Race):

1 Tony Jardine/Charlie Settrington (1958 Jaguar Mk1) 
2 Anthony Reid/Justin Law (1959 Jaguar Mk1)
3 Michael Caine/Rob Myers (1958 Austin A40)
4 Gordon Shedden/Neil Brown (1958 Austin A35)
5 TBC/Derek Hood (1955 Jaguar MKVII)
6 Chris Harris/Simon Drabble (1959 Sunbeam Rapier)
7 Patrick Watts/Malcolm Harrison (1959 Studebaker Silver Hawk)
8 Amanda Stretton/Peter James (1958 FIAT Abarth Evocation)
9 Jason Plato/Nick Naismith (1956 Austin A95 Westminster)
12 TBC/Grant Williams (1959 Jaguar Mk1)
14 Rob Huff/Richard Meins (1959 Austin A40)
15 Derek Hill/James Wood (1959 Riley 1.5)
17 Mat Jackson/David Devine (1959 Riley 1.5)
19 Rupert Keegan/Bruce Chapman (1957 MG Magnette ZB)
20 Jackie Oliver/Richard Shaw (1959 BMW 700)
25 Frank Stippler/John Young (1958 Jaguar Mk1)
26 Mark Blundell/Michael Kerry (1959 Ford Zodiac MkII)
27 Andy Priaulx/Theo Paphitis (1958 Ford Zodiac)
29 Tiff Needell/Mike Haigh (1959 Ford Falcon)
34 Steve Soper/Richard Meaden (1959 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Ti)
35 Marino Franchitti/David Cuff (1958 Austin A35)
48 Stuart Graham/Richard Butterfield (1958 Jaguar Mk1)
49 Ruano Aaltonen/Paul Alcock (1949 Morris Minor)
55 Sam Tordoff/Alistair Dyson (1959 Ford Zyphyr MkII)
56 John Cleland/Shaun Rainford (1956 Nash Metropolitan)
73 Tom Kristensen/Bill Shephard (1959 Ford Thunderbird)
74 Darren Turner/Nick Mason (1957 MG Magnette ZB)
77 Andrew Jordan/Mike Jordan (1958 Austin A40)
91 Matt Neal/Simon Blanckley (1959 Austin A40)
121 Adam Morgan/James Colburn (1957 Austin A35)

Popular Articles