Collins Takes First NZ F5000 Tasman Cup Revival Series Win

Category newcomer Michael Collins (McRae GM1) claimed his first SAS Autoparts MSC NZ F5000 Tasman Cup Revival Series win at the second round of the 2017/18 season at Manfeild today.

After joining former series’ champ Andy Higgins (Lola T332) on the front row of the grid for the first SAS Autoparts MSC race at the 32nd annual MG Classic motor racing meeting at the Manawatu circuit this afternoon, Collins, 21, spent the first six laps in second place before passing Higgins on the seventh (of eight) and going on to cross the line just over five seconds in front.

Aucklander Grant Martin (Talon MR1A) started and finished the race third, while defending series title-holder Brett Willis worked his way forward after qualifying sixth quickest to finish fourth. Glenn Richards (Lola T400) shared the second row of the grid with Martin, but spun in the opening stages of the race and spent the remaining laps working his way back to 10th place.

Making  a big impression in one of the older (Class A) cars in the field, meanwhile, was David Arrowsmith from Christchurch. He had his rare, Ford-powered, Lotus 70B absolutely humming, qualifying and finishing fifth overall.

Sixth, in his first race of the 2017/18 season was Russell Greer from Blenheim in his ex-Graeme Lawrence Lola T332, seventh, in his return to the category, SAS Autoparts MSC series original Shayne Windelburn (Lola T400) from Auckland.

David Banks was eighth in his new ex Johnny Walker Lola T332, and local ace Tim Rush was an excellent ninth in his return to the series in the Rush family-owned McLaren M22. Glenn Richards crossed the line a hard-won tenth with Aaron Burson (driving his father’s McRae GM1 after he holed a piston in his own Talon MR1A in practice on Friday) eleventh, Tony Roberts driving the high-wing McLaren M10A-9 12th, and Rotorua man Karl Zohs 13th in his Chevron B32.

Racing was held in cool, dry conditions today with more of the same expected for the two more SAS Autoparts MSC NZ F5000 Tasman Cup Revival Series races at Manfeild Circuit Chris Amon tomorrow.

Andrew Higgins (Lola T332) 1.03.33
Michael Collins (McRae GM1) 1.03.37
Grant Martin (Talon MR1A) 1.04.72
Glenn Richards (Lola T400) 1.05.07
Dave Arrowsmith (Lotus 70B)
Brett Willis (Lola T330) 1.05.58
Russell Greer (Lola T332) 1.06.40
David Banks (Lola T332) 1.06.65
Shayne Windelburn (Lola T400) 1.07.23
Tim Rush (McLaren M22) 1.09.51
Tony Roberts (McLaren M10A-9)1.09.52
Peter Burson (McRae GM1) 1.09.93
Karl Zohs (Chevron B32) 1.19.14
Race 1 (Sat) 8 laps
1. Michael Collins 8.38.99
2. Andrew Higgins +5.41
3. Grant Martin +8.44
4. Brett Willis +8.80
5. Dave Arrowsmith +19.70
6. Russell Greer +20.16
7. Shayne Windelburn +29.47
8. David Banks +31.49
9. Tim Rush +31.84
10. Glenn Richards +32.27
11. Aaron Burson +46.32
12. Tony Roberts +52.42
13. Karl Zohs +2 laps

Popular Articles