Awards Night for HSCC Champions

Picture: Howden Ganley (L) and John Brindley (R) present Andrew Park with the Lion Trophy

The Historic Sports Car Club celebrated its 2015 racing season with the annual awards dinner and prize-giving at the Whittlebury Hall near Silverstone on last weekend, Saturday the 28th of November.
 All of the champions and trophy winners from the club’s portfolio of 16 championships and race series received their awards as guest of honour Howden Ganley took centre stage. The former Grand Prix driver was a very popular guest and will shortly go back to his racing roots by being the patron of the Formula Junior Diamond Jubilee World Tour, which starts in January.
Champions and trophy winners applauded were:
Richard Mitchell (Historic Formula Ford 1600 champion)
Kevin Kivlochan (ONI PLC Historic Road Sports champion)
Jim Dean (70s Road Sports champion)
Mark Charteris (Classic Clubmans Class A champion)
Clive Wood (Classic Clubmans Class B champion)
Simon Benoy (ByBox Historic Touring Cars champion)
Ian Jones (Classic Racing Cars champion)
Mike Gardiner (Guards Trophy champion)
Stewart Whyte (Super Touring Trophy winner)
Max Bartell (Classic Formula 3 champion)
Richard Evans (Derek Bell Trophy winner)
Andrew Tart (Silverline Historic Formula Junior champion)
Tom Smith (Historic Formula Ford 2000 champion)
Andy Wallace (Jaguar Heritage Challenge winner)
John Burton (Pre 80 Endurance winner)
Leif Bosson (Historic Formula 3 champion)
Robert Simac (Historic Formula 2 champion)
In addition, the club has an extensive range of special awards and trophies and the 2015 recipients were:
David Barraclough Trophy: Ian Burford (MG Lenham Le Mans)
Bellini (Best Chevron): Maxim Bartell (Chevron B34)
Autosport Grove Air Endurance: Martin O'Connell (Jaguar E-type)
Merlyn Trophy: Richard Mitchell (Merlyn Mk20) 
Spirit of Series (70s Road Sports): Alex Page             
John Foulston Trophy: Maxim Bartell               
Bill Phillips (best pre-1960): Andrew Tart (Bond FJ)
Lotus Trophy: Jim Dean (Lotus Europa)
Brabham Trophy: Leif Bosson (Brabham BT28)
Dragon Racing best performance in a March: Richard Evans (March 79B)
Spirit of Competition (2-litre sports): George Douglas (Martin BM7) 
Classic and Sports Car Trophy: Jim Dean (Lotus Europa)
Alan Brownlee Trophy (best lady): Trish Hunter (Mallock Mk16)
Samuels Trophy (Alfa Romeo): Jon Wagstaff (Alfa Romeo GTV)
Jaguar Trophy: Robert Gate (Jaguar E-type)     
Goodwood Challenge: James King         
Tim Barrington Trophy: Ian Jones (Lotus 59)
Terence Smith Quiet Achiever: Martyn Halliday           
Monson Trophy (best newcomer): Richard Mitchell (Merlyn Mk20)
John Nichol Premier Cru: Ian Jones (Lotus 59)
Peter Hanson Trophy: Leif Bosson (Brabham BT28)
Two very special awards were reserved for drivers who came very close to winning overall championship titles. After missing the Historic FF2000 title by a single point in his Reynard SF81, Andrew Park was presented with The Lion Trophy. This huge trophy has been loaned to the Club by its original winner John Brindley who was on hand to present it. 
Another new trophy on loan from its original winner, Warwick Banks, was the Guards 1000 Trophy and this year’s winner was Michael Hibberd for just missing out on the Guards Trophy title with his Lotus 23B.

Popular Articles