Historic Rally Champions Honoured

The award winners for the 2017 Mintex MSA British Historic Rally Championship and the Fuchs Lubricants RACRMC Historic Asphalt Rally Championship were celebrated at the Casa Hotel in Chesterfield on Saturday (3rd February). 
Around 130 competitors and their guests were on hand to cheer the major winners. In addition, Marty McCormack and Barney Mitchell collected the major award from the 2017 Roger Albert Clark Rally.
The overall champions for the BHRC, completing a record-breaking hat-trick of titles, were Jason Pritchard and Phil Clarke and they received their awards from Simon Blunt, General Secretary of the MSA. Meanwhile, Dessie Nutt and Geraldine McBride picked up the major Fuchs Asphalt Championship award. Other category winners in the Asphalt championship who collected awards included Bob Seager, Ian Robertson/Andrew Scott and Lyndon Barton/Simon Hunter.
Clarke also collected the BHRC ‘over 55 co-driver’ award, while Phil Jobson took the ‘over 55 driver’ award. For the second year running, Ben Friend won the ‘under 25 driver award’ and Siobhan Pugh won the ‘under 25 co-driver’ award. 
The award for the most entertaining driver went to Friend who, along with co-driver Cliffy Simmons, shared the RSR Historic Engineering Category 3 title with Tim Freeman and Paul Williams. Phil Jobson and Arwel Jenkins won the Capital Construction Category 2 and Phil Harris/Richard Suter won the Vintage Car Radiator Company Category 1 title.

Popular Articles