Sticker of the Day No.1: Saudia Williams Leyland, World Champions 1980

None of Frank Williams’ rivals begrudged the stalwart team owner Clay Regazzoni’s breakthrough Grand Prix victory in Patrick Head’s FW07 at Silverstone in 1979. Team-mate Alan Jones won four of the next five, the German, Austrian and Dutch GPs in quick succession, finishing third in the points behind Ferrari’s Jody Scheckter and Jacques Villeneuve. Bull-necked Australian Jones mastered the refined FW07B in 1980 and, with early retirements behind him, overhauled fast-starting Ligier duo Jacques Laffite and Didier Pironi and Brabham’s Nelson Piquet. Five wins and three seconds clinched the world title – but neither Jones nor Williams was name-checked on the sticker. 

Popular Articles