Minis and V8s Take Saturday Race Wins at Goodwood

Three races rounded out Saturday’s track action at the 77th Goodwood Members’ Meeting, with two heats for the Betty Richmond Trophy that saw Mini racing at its finest on the anniversary of the British icon. Long time Mini racer Ian Curley won the opening heat, while the second saw Nick Swift and Nick Padmore running close, just as they had in qualifying earlier in the day, Swift just coming out on top.

The Gerry Marshall Trophy for Group One saloons was dominated by the big V8s, the Boss Mustang of Craig Davies and Andrew Newall leading early on with the similar car of Roman Dumas and Bill Shepard staying with them - the only other car living with their pace the Ford Escort RS2000 of Tom Blomqvist and Kerry Michael.

Of the lead three, only the Mustang of Davies and Newall was able to stay the distance, winning with a healthy lead over the Rover of Neel Jani and James Wood.

Betty Richmond Trophy
Heat 1:

1 Ian Curley (Austin Mini Cooper S) 13 Laps 20m32.366s (90.38mph)
2 Lars Ekoness (Morris Mini Cooper S) +0.788s
3 Tom Blomqvist (Austin Mini Cooper S)
4 Darren Turner (Morris Mini Cooper S)
5 Kane Austin (Austin Mini Cooper S)
6 Mark Burnett (Austin Mini Countryman)
Fastest Lap: Ekorness 1m33.206s (91.92mph)Nick Padmore, Mini

Heat 2:
1 Nick Swift (Morris Mini Cooper S) 13 Laps in 20m36.368s
2 Nick Padmore (Morris Mini Cooper S) +0.199s
3 Jonathan Lewis (Morris Mini Cooper S)
4 Patrick Watts (Austin Mini Cooper S)
5 Jeff Smith ((Austin Mini Cooper S)
6 Phil Anning Riley Elf)
FL: Padmore 1m33.674s (91.46mph)Gerry Marshall race Start

Gerry Marshall Trophy
Race One:

1 Davies/Newall (Ford Mustang Boss 302) 30 Laps 46m07.731s
2 Jani/Wood (Rover 3500 SD1) +33.956s
3 Graham/Garrett (Chevrolet Camaro Z28)
4 Morris/Shephard (Volkswagen Golf GTi MK1)
5 Brindle/Brabham (Rover 3500 SD1)
6 Wood/Minassian (Ford Capri 3.0)
FL: Davies/Newall 1m26.603 (96.70mph)

Pictures: Gibson

Popular Articles