British Historic Rally Champions Honoured

The award winners for the 2019 FUCHS Lubricants Motorsport UK British Historic Rally Championship and the FUCHS Lubricants RACRMC Historic Asphalt Rally Championship were celebrated in style at the superb Casa Hotel in Chesterfield on Saturday (2 February). 
Over 120 competitors and their guests were on hand to honour the major winners. The evening reflected a tremendous season of competition across the historic categories and pointed to another strong season in 2019 as recent changes to event running order have given historic rallying a welcome boost.

The overall champions in the BHRC were the major award winners as Paul Barrett and Brian Hodgson took the big prizes. Category winners in the championship were Bob Bean/Miles Cartwright, Chris Skill and Craig Simkiss, Stuart Egglestone and Jez Rogers and Rudi Lancaster/Guy Weaver.

Bean and Cartwright capped a great season by winning the BHRC2 category for the older and less powerful cars, while recent Silver Fern Rally winner Matthew Robinson won the BHRC Forest Challenge. The winner of the Under 25 Driver award was Ben Friend, while Warren Philliskirk was the winner of the Over 55 Driver award.

Simon Tysoe (drivers) and Simon Hunter (co-drivers) were the big winners in the Fuchs Lubricants RACRMC Historic Asphalt Rally Championship, while other category winners were Lyndon Barton, David Kynaston and Dick Mauger.

BHRC championship regulations and registration forms will be published in the middle of February and the 2019 BHRC starts with Rally North Wales on Saturday 30 March.

Popular Articles