International Historic Motoring Awards Finalists Announced

The finalists in each of the 12 categories of the International Historic Motoring Awards have been announced, with the panel of judges now set to deliberate over the winners - with the exception of the Car of the Year category which goes to a public vote.

The awards will take place at London’s Guildhall on November 17th, and it is pleasing to see some well-deserved names in the various shortlists, which also includes recognition for some of the less obvious, but nonetheless intrinsic to our sport, candidates. We were delighted to see Aston Martin specialist Ecurie Bertelli named in two categories, recognition for Julius Thurgood’s HRDC Academy programme, and the HSCC’s Grahame White after the huge efforts of the club to promote their 50th anniversary this year.

2016 International Historic Motoring Awards Finalists  

Car of the Year (sponsored by Octane)

Alfa Romeo SZ Zagato
Ford GT40 P/1046
Sir Henry Segrave’s Sunbeam ‘Tiger’
Jaguar D-type XKD 501
Jaguar XJ13 recreation
Talbot-Lago T150-C SS Figoni et Falaschi
Touring Disco Volante Spyder
Pegaso Z-102 Berlinetta ENASA Cúpula

Club of the Year (sponsored by Footman James)

De Dion Bouton Club UK 
Formula Junior Historic Racing Association
Historic Sports Car Club
Aston Martin Owners Club 
E-type Club 
TR Register 

Industry Supporter of the Year

RPM Foundation
Bicester Heritage 
Audi Tradition 
FIVA World Motoring Heritage Year
Jaguar Land Rover Classic 
Credit Suisse Classic Car Program

Motoring Event of the Year (sponsored by EFG)

Concours of Elegance 2016: Windsor Castle
Regent Street Motor Show 
Rømø Motor Festival 2016 
Concorso d'Eleganza Villa d'Este 2016 
Amelia Island Concours d'Elegance 
Chantilly Arts & Elegance Richard Mille 

Motorsport Event of the Year

Silverstone Classic 
Eifel Rallye Festival 
Historic Grand Prix Zandvoort 
Lime Rock Historic Festival 
Le Mans Classic
Rolex Monterey Motorsports Reunion

Museum or Collection of the Year

America's Car Museum - The LeMay 
The Mullin Automotive Museum 
Petersen Automotive Museum 
Porsche Museum 
Lamborghini Museum 
The British Motor Museum 

Personal Achievement of the Year (sponsored by the Historic Endurance Rallying Organisation)

Grahame White (Historic Sports Car Club)
Graham ‘Curly’ Hutton (George Lister Engineering)
Peter Mullin (Mullin Automotive Museum)
Philip Porter (Author, and founder of the E-type Club)
Micheal Penn (Haynes International Motor Museum)
Peter Neumark (Classic Motor Cars)
Karl Ulrich Herrmann (RETRO Classics)

Publication of the Year (sponsored by Hortons Books)  

Red Dust Racers, by Graeme Cocks
The Original Ford GT101, by Ed Heuvink
Marcello Gandini, by Gautam Sen
Power Without Glory, by Terry Wright
Carrera 2.7, by Ryan Snodgrass
Porsche 917 Archive & Works Layout 968-75, by Walter Naher
Maserati 250F, by Ian Wagstaff
Stirling Moss, The Definitive Biography Vol 1, by Philip Porter


Race Series of the Year (sponsored by Lister)

HRDC ‘Academy’ Series 
Jaguar Classic Challenge 
FJHRA 60th anniversary
Classic Sports Car Club ‘Swinging Sixties’  
Equipe GTS

Rally or Tour of the Year (sponsored by Historic Motorsport International)     

The Great Race 
Bonhams London to Brighton Veteran Car Run 
Modena Cento Ore 
Rally Round Thunder Dragon Rally 
The Royal Automobile Club 1000 Mile Trial 
Tour Auto Optic 2000
Peking to Paris Motor Challenge

Restoration of the Year

Ex-works Aston-Martin Ulster – Ecurie Bertelli
Pegaso Z-102 Berlinetta ENASA Cúpula – Classic Restorations
Ford GT40 P/1046  - RK Motors Charlotte/Rare Drive
Lamborghini Miura chassis #4846 – Lamborghini PoloStorico
Porsche 911 2.5 S/T ex Le Mans – Porsche Classic
Lola GT – Allen Grant
Stutz DV-32 Convertible Victoria - RM Auto Restoration

Specialist of the Year           

Ecurie Bertelli
Jaguar Land Rover Classic  
Rally Preparation Services
Crosthwaite & Gardiner

Popular Articles