Collins Takes Teretonga Formula 5000 Opener

Runaway series’ points leader Michael Collins continued on his winning way on the first day of competition at the fourth round of the 2019//20 SAS Autoparts MSC NZ F5000 Tamsna Cup Revival Series at Invercargill’s Tereotonga Park today.

In front of a large and appreciativec crowd gathered to celebrate the achievmemts of local car constructor George Begg, Collins - driving the Alistair Hey-owned Leda LT27 – parlayed pole position in qualifying this morning to a lights-to-flag win in the first class race of the weekend this afternoon.

Glenn RichardsIn second place, some 6.006 seconds behind after six laps of the 6.620km Southland circuit was three-time former series title-holder, Steve Ross in his visually-identical but later model McRae GM1, while third and enjoying one of his best and certainly most competitive showings to date, was Glenn Richards, from Auckland, behind the wheel of the ex Eppie Weitzes’ Lola T400.

Early on former Southlander LeRoy Stevenson, who had qualified Queenstown car owner Alistair Hey’s other Leda LT27 (the fluro-pink ex Graham McRae 001 car) third, held third place but pitted on the second lap feeling unwell thanks to a bout of the flu.

David Banks, ,who had qualified his ex-Jon Woodner Talon MR1 sixth pitted not long after with a gear selection issue, a problem which also saw Australian visitor Pual Zazryn pit and also pull out.

That left fifth place to Grant Martin in the ex-Chris Amon Talon MR1A, then a gap back to Shayne Windleburn (Lola T400) then Tony Roberts in the high-wing McLaren M10A (pictured below), Class A rival Frank Karl in his MclArne M10B and Tim Rush in the Begg FM4.

There are two more races on the programme at the George Begg Classic Speefest tomorrow, an eight-lap preliminary one on Sunday morning and a final 12-lap feature in the afternoon.

1. Michael Collins 54.451
2. Steve Ross 55.119
3. Glenn Richards 56.802
4. Paul Zazryn 56.935
5. Grant Martin 57.049
6. David Banks 57.186
7. Kevin Ingram 57.581
8. Codie Banks 58.067
9. Tony Roberts 1:01.862
10. Shayne Windelburn 1:02.095
11. Frank Karl 1:03.817
12. Tim Rush 1:10.175;
13. LeRoy Stevenson

Race 1 (Sat pm 6 laps)
1. Michael Collins 5:38.766
2. Steve Ross +6.006
3. Glenn Richards +14.982
4. Grant Martin +17.090
5. Kevin Ingram +19.750
6. Shayne Windelburn +39.319
7. Tony Roberts +48.687
8. Frank Karl +52.011
9. Tim Rush + 1 lap
DNF. LeRoy Stevenson, David Banks, Paul Zazryn
DNS. Codie Banks

Pictures: Fast Company/Richard Dimmock

Tony Robers, McLaren M10A

Popular Articles