Cawley Takes Oulton Park Trophy at Formula Vintage Meeting

Round two of Formula Vintage took place at Oulton Park on Saturday 19th May. The enthralling ten race programme included the VSCC’s regulars and invited grids from the Pirelli Ferrari Classic Formula Series, the AR Motorsport Morgan Challenge and the F3 500’s.

Under brilliant blue skies 2018 saw  some exciting wheel to wheel action, with Dougal Cawley in his 1929 GN/Ford 'Piglet' successfully defending his 2017 title by again winning the Oulton Park Trophy. Christopher Mann was an overjoyed winner of the Bill Philips Trophy in the Standard and Modified Pre-war Sports Car race driving his 1932 Alfa Romeo Monza, with Charles Gillett claiming the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy in his 1957 Cooper T43.

Julian Grimwade driving his 1934 Frazer Nash Single Seater took the Hawthorn Spanish with Tony Lees winning The Boulogne Trophy after a week in the workshop with his 1925 AC/GN Cognac. Other Race winners were Tim Kneller in his 1933 Riley Sprite, Anthony Fenwick-Wilson in his 1935 Railton LS Tourer and a second win for Julian Grimwade in the short scratch race which closed the days racing.

The Pirelli Ferrari Classic Races saw both race wins taken by Wayne Marrs, the F3 500s winner was Darrell Woods in his Staride MK3 and Andrew Thompson was victor in the AR Motorsport Morgan Challenge Race. 

Formula Vintage returns for the Formula Vintage Festival at Donington Park on 24th June before round three at Cadwell Park on 22nd July.

Formula Vintage

Popular Articles