Famous Names in Store at Festival of Speed

As ever the Goodwood Festival of Speed provides an almost unrivalled range of cars and drivers taking on the hill in front of the large crowds. 

Here are some of the historic names and cars from the long list of attendees, hope your favourite is there!

Giacomo Agostini 15-time Motorcycle Grand Prix World Champion MV Agusta
Rene Arnoux Formula 1 race winner Renault RS01
Richard Attwood 1970 Le Mans 24hr winner, finished 2nd at 1968 Monaco Grand Prix Porsche 804
Jurgen Barth 1977 Le Mans 24hr winner For Porsche
Derek Bell Five-time Le Mans 24hr winner Porsche 917K, Porsche 962 and McLaren M10B
David Brabham 2009 Le Mans 24hr winner, ALMS champion and former F1 driver Brabham BT62, Jaguar E2A
Martin Brundle 1990 Le Mans winner, Formula 1 driver and commentator Cooper T43, Eagle-Weslake T1G
Jenson Button 2009 Formula 1 World Champion Honda RA301
Adam Carolla American comedian, radio host, TV personality and podcaster Porsche 935
John Cleland Two-time BTCC champion Commentating on BTCC shootout and driving BTCC cars across weekend
Gil de Ferran 2000 & 2001 Champ Car champion, winner of 2003 Indy 500 McLaren M23 and F1 GTR
Gwyndaf Evans 1996 British Rally Champion In action at the Forest Rally Stage
Emerson Fittipaldi Two2-time Formula 1 world champion, 2-time indy 500 winner and CART championship winner McLaren M23
John Fitzpatrick Three-time Le Mans class-winner with Porsche, winner of 12 Hours of Sebring, 24 Hours of Daytona, Bathurst 1000 and 1966 BSCC Champion, Driving for Porsche, including Porsche 935/78 'Moby Dick'
Marino Franchitti 12 Hours of Sebring winner Singer Williams 
Nirei Fukuzumi Formula 2 driver for Arden Honda RA301
Christian Geistdörfer Former WRC co-driver, co-drove for Walter Röhrl and Hannu Mikkola
Driving with Walter Röhrl
Mika Hakkinen 1998 and 1999 Formula 1 World Champion For Mercedes
Brendon Hartley Two-time World Endurance champion, winner of 2017 Le Mans 24 Hours and current Toro Rosso driver Porsche 911 GT1-98
Hurley Haywood Three-time Le Mans 24hr winner For Porsche, including the 2.0-057
Tom Kristensen Nine-time Le Mans Winner, dubbed 'Mr Le Mans' Audi R8 and Ford Escort Twin Cam
Robert Kubica Former Formula 1 and WRC driver Lancia 037
Michel Leclere Former F1 and Le Mans driver Alpine-Renault A442B
Klaus Ludwig Three-time Le Mans 24hr winner and two-time DTM champion Mercedes-Benz 300SLR, Mercedes-Benz CLK LM, Mercedes-Benz W196
Pierluigi Martini 1999 Le Mans 24hr winner and former Formula 1 driver BMW V12 LMR
Jochen Mass 1989 Le Mans 24hr winner and Former Formula 1 driver Porsche 962 and for Mercedes Benz Classic
Alister McRae Former WRC driver, 2011 Asia-Pacific Rally Champion, son of Jimmy and brother of Colin McRae Subaru Legacy
Jimmy McRae Five-time British Rally Champion ('81, '82, '84, '87 and '88), father of Alister and Colin McRae Subaru Legacy, Ford Sierra RS Cosworth
Arturo Merzario Former Formula 1 driver Ferrari 156 'Sharknose'
Rod Millen Five-time Pikes Peak International Hillclimb winner Darracq Grand Prix, Toyota Celica
Jackie Oliver 1969 Le Mans 24hr winner, former F1 driver BRM P153
Richard Petty Seven-time NASCAR Champion Dodge Charger
Emanuele Pirro Five time Le Mans winner with Audi, two times ALMS champion also with Audi
Audi R8 and Chevrolet SS
Dieter Quester 1973 Le Mans 24hr class winner, FIA GT and European Formula 2 race winner
BrianRedman Legend of Sportscar racing winning the Targa Florio, 12 hours of Sebring (twice) and the Spa-Francorchamps 1000 km Lola-Ford T90 'Bowes Seal Fast Special' and for Porsche
Walter Röhrl Two-time World Rally Champion and 1981 Le Mans 24hr class winner Porsche 356A 1500 GS Carrera Coupe, Porsche 911 SC 'Paris-Dakar'
Johnny Rutherford Three-time Indy 500 winner & 1980 Indycar Champion Chaparral-Cosworth 2K
Manfred Schurti Former Porsche Le Mans driver and BMW M1 Procar and Deutsche Rennsport Meisterschaft race winner Porsche 935/78 'Moby Dick'
Bernd Schneider Five-time DTM champion, 1995 ITC champion and 1997 FIA GT champion Mercedes-Benz 300SLR, Mercedes-Benz CLK LM, Mercedes-Benz W196
Steve Soper 24HR Nürburgring, 24 HR Spa and Macau Race Winner BMW M3
Paul Stewart Founder of Stewart Grand Prix with Sir Jackie and former British F3 driver Tyrrell 003
Mark Stewart Film director, son of Sir Jackie Tyrrell 006
Sir Jackie Stewart Three-time Formula 1 World Champion - 1969, 1971 and 1973 Lola-Ford T90 'Bowes Seal Fast Special', Tyrrell 003, Tyrrell 006 and Matra MS80
Hans-Joachim Stuck Two-time Le Mans 24hr winner, 1990 DTM winner Auto Union Type C
Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren F1 driver, 2015 GP2 champion McLaren M23
Gijs van Lennep Two-time Le Mans 24hr winner For Porsche
Prince Leopold von Bayern Former BMW & Porsche driver, member of the Bavarian Royal Family BMW M1 Le Mans
Mark Webber 2015 World Endurance Champion, former F1 driver For Porsche

Popular Articles